Student-produced newspaper earns awards

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., April 10, 2017 — Drury’s student-produced newspaper founded in 1886, The Mirror, earned 5 awards at the 2017 Missouri College Media Association (MCMA) Conference on April 9 in St. Joseph, MO. Current students and recent graduates competed for awards with student staff from college newspapers at Maryville University, Missouri Southern State University, Missouri Western State University, Northwest Missouri State University, Truman State University, and Webster University.

This year’s winners from Drury were as follows:

Tina Haberberger, from St. Louis, Mo., earned 2nd in Column and 2nd in Information Graphic

Deborah Tragasz, from Jefferson City, Mo., earned 3rd place in Editorial Writing

Dani Wheelan, from Paris, Mo., earned 2nd place in In-Depth News Reporting

Max Prater, from Ozark, Mo., earned 2nd place in In-Depth News Reporting

For more information, please contact Dr. Greg Booker, assistant professor and advisor for The Mirror at


Share on Social