Two outstanding honors students receive research funding from Drury

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., May 26, 2016 — Drury Honors students Lexi Brewer and Rita Elisa Vega are the inaugural recipients of the White-Foster Endowed Scholarship. The merit-based scholarship supports research conducted by women in Drury’s newly revamped Honors Program.

Lexi Brewer is a junior from Camdenton, Mo. who is a double major in international political studies and Spanish, and is also pursuing a minor in biology and a minor in environment and sustainability. Brewer has accepted a position at Oregon State University as a Summer Sea Scholar, where she will develop an eco-tourist strategy for the town of Bandon, Oregon.

In January 2017, she will study abroad in Roatan, Honduras. Roatan is an internationally recognized marine protected area, and researchers on the island conduct assessments to measure the effectiveness of the reserve. By working with these researchers, Brewer hopes to gain insight to her specific academic interest: creating effective environmental policy. She plans to present her findings at a research conference the following spring.

Rita Elisa Vega is a junior from Columbia, Mo. who is majoring in history. Her goal is to earn a Ph.D. in Latin American history. She will spend five weeks this summer traveling to several cities in Bolivia in order to access the national archive and university libraries. The research will focus on the independence movement of the country and the roles of the Quechua and Aymara peoples in the fight for freedom. She plans to gather primary sources on the topic for use in her Senior Seminar and Honors Project during her senior year at Drury.

Following the trip to Bolivia, Vega will travel to Penn State University for the Undergraduate Mentoring Program, which is designed for underrepresented students who plan to pursue a Ph.D. in history.

The White-Foster Scholarship will help offset the costs associated with the research these two outstanding students plan to conduct. Honors Program Director Dr. Richard Schur and the Honors Council select recipients of the scholarship. Eligibility is open to all female honors students who have completed at least their freshman year.

Share on Social