Forty new students join Drury’s revamped Honors Program

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., Sept. 14, 2016 — Drury University is proud to welcome 40 new students into its Honors Program for 2016-17. These talented individuals will experience a new honors curriculum under second-year director Dr. Richard Schur. The new curriculum emphasizes active and hands-on learning within Drury’s general education program and a student’s major course of study.

Honors students enjoying a float trip together

Drury’s honors classes ask students to pose solutions to scientific, social, and cultural problems; engage in service learning projects throughout the region; complete research projects; and dig deeply into scholarly literature. The program spans a student’s entire academic career and caps off with an in-depth senior project of their own choosing. Honors students have opportunities for connections outside the classroom through the Honors Student Association and through residential Living-Learning Communities, with themes such as “The Meaning of Life” and “Health, Happiness, and Well-Being.”

Honors graduates have recently been accepted into some of the best graduate schools in the country, including Harvard University, Georgetown University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Missouri.

Admission into the program is competitive and selective. This year’s incoming Honors students had an average ACT score of 30 and an average high school GPA over 4.0. However, rather than relying solely on past academic performance, the best candidates are those students who exhibit character traits that lead to long-term success.

“We look for students who are ambitious, independent, hardworking, curious, and socially engaged with the world around them,” Schur says. “We believe that those are the attributes that both help a person succeed in the Honors Program and succeed in life.”

The 2016-17 Honors Program class includes the following students:

  • Kendall Alexander, a music therapy major from Mantorville, Minnesota
  • Cale Ambuehl, an architecture major from Edwardsville, Illinois
  • Erin Benedict, a history and English major from Owasso, Oklahoma
  • Dakota Bowen, a history and secondary education major from Springfield (Central High School)
  • Grant Bushman, a math and computer science major from Mount Vernon, Missouri
  • Meagan Carmack, an international relations, Spanish and math major from Conway, Arkansas
  • Kyra Cook, an undecided major from Springfield (Central High School)
  • Kayla Day, a biochemistry major from O’Fallon, Missouri
  • Ciera Duban, a political science major from Saint Peters, Missouri
  • Lindsay Duede, a political science and French major from Ozark, Missouri (Ozark High School)
  • Clayton Engel, a pre-health sciences and biochemistry major from Nixa, Missouri (Ozark High School)
  • Ryan Ewing, a biochemistry and physics major from Garland, Texas
  • Joe Fehr, a computer science and engineering major from Omaha, Nebraska
  • Ibby Fryman, a behavioral neurosciences and psychology major from O’Fallon, Missouri
  • Lisa Griffin, an architecture major from St. Louis, Missouri
  • Lexie Gutierrez, a music therapy major from Round Lake Beach, Illinois
  • Michael Henderson, a biochemistry major Willard, Missouri (Willard High School)
  • Kayley Hernandez, an undecided major from Rogersville, Missouri, (Logan-Rogersville High School)
  • Emily Hinkle, a biology major from Morrisville, Missouri
  • Jacob Hubers, a psychology and political science major from Holland, Michigan
  • Luke Huff, an architecture major from Springfield (Kickapoo High School)
  • Tara Long, a biology major from West Plains, Missouri
  • Shaundra Nash, an animation and writing major from Cainsville, Missouri
  • Zachary Norton, a business management major from Selgin, Illinois
  • Claire Reed, an architecture major from Ballwin, Missouri
  • Sary Rodriquez, a biochemistry and physics major from Springfield (Willard High School)
  • Jeana Scott, a psychology and sociology major from Raymore, Missouri
  • Kellie Sherrer, an education, Spanish and psychology major from Waynesville, Missouri
  • Jerrica Shine, a strategic communication major from Springfield (Kickapoo High School)
  • Katherine Sittenauer, a political science major from Topeka, Kansas
  • Mariah Skelly, a music therapy major from St. Charles, Missouri
  • Connor Stahl, a criminology major from St. Charles, Missouri
  • Chelsea Stitt, a biology major from Ottawa, Kansas
  • Kendall Stockard, a marketing and French major from Kansas City, Missouri
  • Taegan Sumners, a biochemistry major from Aurora, Missouri
  • Segadgey Thomas, an exercise physiology and French major from Bixby, Oklahoma
  • Javier Diaz Vicens, an architecture, arts administration and French major from Waynesville, Missouri
  • Katherine Vincent, a behavioral neuroscience major from Willard, Missouri
  • Madison Ward, a music therapy major from Yorkville, Illinois
  • Riley Wilson, a biochemistry major from Pierce City, Missouri

Visit for more information about the program and the students and alumni involved. Drury Honors is also on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.


Share on Social