Drury University recognizes faculty & student mid-semester accolades

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., March 22, 2016 — Drury University is entering the second half of the spring semester and would like to take the opportunity to acknowledge the academic accomplishments of various faculty and staff over the past few months.


  • Michael Buono, Emeritus Professor and former Director of Hammons School of Architecture, has been elected to the American Institute of Architects prestigious College of Fellows. Buono is the only the third AIA member from the southwest Missouri area to be elected.
  • For the 2nd year in a row, a Drury student has been accepted in the UDream Program at Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh. Olivia Freese has been selected this year. In 2015, Tamara Cartwright was selected.

Art & Art History:

  • Rebecca Miller, Associate Professor, will assume the leadership of Drury’s Arts Administration program in the fall.

Behavioral Science:

  • Dr. Patricia McEachern, Dorothy Jo Barker Endowed Professor for the Study of Animal Rights, has been invited on a permanent Fellow with the Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics at Oxford University in England. McEachern has been invited to teach in the Summer School there in July.

Computer Science:

  • Nine Drury students competed in the 2015 International Collegiate Programming Contest.


  • Dr. Kevin Henderson, Assistant Professor, recently had his essay, “Why Do You Make Me Do This?: Spectator Empathy, Self-Loathing Lawmen, and Nicholas Ray’s Noir Vision in On Dangerous Ground” accepted into the summer issue of the peer-reviewed journal Interdisciplinary Humanities.


  • Dr. Natalie Wlodarczyk, assistant professor, was elected to a 5 year term on the Board of Directors of the Certification Board for Music Therapists, the national credentialing organization for music therapy.
  • Dr. Tina Claussen, associate professor, became a member of the Missouri Jazz Orchestra.
  • Dr. Stephen Bomgardner, professor, had an original work selected for a lecture-recital at the National Conference of The College Music Society next October.


  • Jessica Kjeldgaard, Drury student, has received the Barbara Lotze scholarship for future teachers of physics from the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Political Science:

  • Several Drury students won awards at the Midwest Model UN Conference in St. Louis earlier this year.
    • Nargiss Pourmand, representing New Zealand, won an award for Best Position Paper in the Security Council.
    • Sheri Walsh, representing Chile, won a Best Delegate/Delegates’ Choice award chosen by her fellow students in the Security Council.
    • Christina FaoroAlex Johnson and Emma-Quin Smith, representing Spain, won an overall Best Delegation award for work in the General Assembly.


  • Drury senior Briana Hopkins served as a Student Arts Advocate in Washington, D.C. in March.


Share on Social