Drury recognizes Warren White Scholars and outstanding faculty

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., August 30, 2016 — Drury University recognized outstanding faculty and second-year students at its 2016 Opening Convocation. This ceremony officially began Drury’s 143rd academic year with an address from President Tim Cloyd.

“World-class education and teaching informed by scholarship and artistic practice – that is our calling,” Cloyd said in address to a packed auditorium at Clara Thompson Hall. “A liberal arts university imparts through its academic programs fundamental competencies that cultivate that ability to think about the world in which we live. It sows seeds that enable students to grow in ethical, intellectual, creative, communicative, and social qualities that are absolutely necessary – indeed, essential – for success, for a fulfilled life, and for leadership.”

Nominations for Faculty Awards are received from students, faculty, administrators and alumni. A committee of students and faculty selects the winners. The honorees were recognized for challenging, engaging and inspiring students both inside and outside the classroom.

The 2016 Faculty Award winners are:

  • Faculty Award for Teaching: Dr. Kris Wiley, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Education & Dr. Natalie Wlodarczyk, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Music
  • Faculty Award for Scholarship: Dr. Elizabeth Nichols, Ph.D., Professor of Spanish
  • Faculty Award for Liberal Learning: Dr. Erin Kenny, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Faculty Award for Advising: Dr. Karen Spence, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Architecture

In addition, the Judge Warren White Scholars were honored. Each honoree will receive a $550 scholarship. These students have the highest grade point averages after completion of their first year at Drury. Mr. Warren White graduated from Drury in 1904 and served as a Greene County circuit court judge for 36 years.

The 2016 Judge Warren White Scholars are:

  • Laura Braiser – Plano, Texas
  • Mason Coble – Nixa, Missouri
  • Miriam Colligan – Farmington, Missouri
  • Taylor Davidson – Lake Ozark, Missouri
  • Rachel DeWeerd – Springfield, Missouri (Glendale High School)
  • Victoria Foster – Munster, Indiana
  • Olivia Funk – Sedalia, Missouri
  • Jessica Knowles – Maryville, Missouri
  • Roxy Kraber – Springfield, Missouri (Central High School)
  • Fadhel Mansoori – Bahrain
  • Isabella Melena – Arvada, Colorado
  • Abigail Mercer – Springfield, Missouri (Grace Classical Academy)
  • Emily Miller – Columbia, Missouri
  • Shylie Miller – Dallas, Texas
  • Caroline Robinson – Ozark, Missouri
  • Jessica Rockafellow – Strafford, Missouri
  • Taylor Stanton – Buffalo, Missouri
  • Grant Thimesch – Marshalltown, Iowa
  • Matt Wagoner – Chesterfield, Missouri
  • Mitchell Wilson – Prosper, Texas


Share on Social