One-Act Playwriting Competition

Drury University is proud to announce its biennial One-Act Playwriting Competition.

Entries due by December 1, 2014




Winning plays will be considered for production by Drury University.

For further information please contact Dr. Mick Sokol (417) 873-6821 or


  1. The competition is open to all playwrights.
  2. Scripts are to be original, unpublished and unproduced. Staged readings or workshop productions will not disqualify a script. Musicals, monologues, children’s plays, adaptations, film scripts, and television scripts are ineligible.
  3. Preference will be given to small cast, one-set shows with running times of no less than 20 minutes and no more than 45 minutes.
  4. No more than one script can be submitted from a playwright.
  5. All scripts are to be typewritten and firmly bound.
  6. For results of your script, please include a self-addressed stamped #10 business envelope or a current e-mail address.  Scripts cannot be returned unless accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage.
  7. No written or verbal critiques will be tendered.
  8. The decision of the judges is final. Drury University reserves the right to produce any of the winning plays royalty-free during our 2014-2015 or 2015-2016 seasons, to withhold production, and to modify cash awards as deemed necessary by the judges.
  9. Drury University does not assume any responsibility for the loss, damage, or return of scripts. All reasonable care will be taken.
  10. Deadline for entries is a postmark of December 1, 2014. Plays should not be submitted before May 1, 2014.
  11. Winners will be notified by mail no later than April 1, 2015.

Address scripts to:
Drury University One-Act Playwriting Competition
c/o Mick Sokol, Associate Professor of Theatre
900 North Benton Avenue
Springfield, MO 65802