Get Involved

Drury Awards

Nominate Someone Here!

Each year students, faculty, staff, groups, and alumni at Drury University exceed expectations and prove to be exemplary. Drury recognizes outstanding students, employees, groups, and alumni in multiple ways. One way is through the Drury Awards. The Student Activities Office, Student Government Association, Community Outreach & Leadership Development, , President’s Council on Sustainability, President’s Council on Wellness, and the President’s Council on Inclusion want to recognize exceptional students, devoted mentors, and outstanding groups for their commitment to enhancing the Drury University experience. Monthly Drury Spotlight Awards are announced on the 15th of each month and the overall Drury President’s Awards will be presented at the end of the spring semester by the University President and the Drury Awards Committee.

The categories of the awards are:

  • Community Engagement- This monthly award recognizes volunteers for their outstanding service and contributions to the community.
    • The President’s Award for the organization with the best overall community engagement program is called the Panther Service Cup and groups must apply to be considered. Click here for more information and the application:
  • Community Partnership- The Community Partner Award recognizes a community agency that is dedicated to improving the Springfield community by focusing their efforts on important social issues in our community. Nominated partners should go above and beyond in their daily operations and should have an active partnership with Drury University if possible.
  • Diversity/Inclusion- This award highlights those in the Drury community who affirm the equality and worth of all people and appreciate the diversity of human culture, language, history and experience.
  • Student Involvement- The Student Involvement Award recognizes members of the Drury community who place value on the student experience through Drury’s student organizations.  Ideal recipients make significant contributions to student organizations by exemplifying excellent leadership skills, as well as integrity, service, innovation, and meaningful involvement every day.
  • Sustainability- This award recognizes the exceptional personal efforts or community leadership of individuals who strive to improve Drury's or the community's environmental impact in ways that also improve the lives of people and the economic bottom line.
  • Wellness- Drury University’s sixth campus value is “Commit to a culture of wellness.” This award selects those of the Drury Community who live committed to a personal and community culture of wellness.

Process for Monthly Drury Spotlight Award Nominations

Step 1:
Complete the Drury Awards Nomination Form by the 1st of the Month (September-November and February-April):

This form may be completed by anyone in the Drury community. Nominate someone here.
You may nominate a student, faculty/staff member, alumni, or group (organization, class, etc.) within the categories listed above.

Step 2:
Nominations are Reviewed and Winners are Selected:

Various Drury Departments will select the Spotlight winners and the President’s Awards winners.

Step 3:
Winners are announced:

Monthly Spotlight winners will be announced on the 15th of each month via Drury’s Facebook and Twitter Pages, DormTV, and The Mirror.

The winners will be recognized during the Drury President's Awards ceremony held each year at the end of the spring semester.
All questions, ideas, and comments regarding the Drury Awards may be directed to the Student Activities Office at

Drury Monthly Spotlight Award Winners 2014-2015 


Month Category Winner
September Student Involvement Sean Feher
September Student Involvement Alexis Dutt
September Community Engagement Emma Huggett
September Diversity Lexi Brewer
September Community Engagement Dr. Raymond Patton
September Wellness Walker Jones
October Student Experience & Involvement Bayless Thompson
October Student Experience Carley Tilley
October Community Engagement Christina Collado
October Student Experience Jane Bennett
October Diversity/ Inclusion Leaster Gibson
October Community Engagement Rich Conyers
October Community Engagement Ryan Swan
October Community Engagement Soccer
October Sustainability Ted Boland
November Community Engagement Blaine Whisenhunt
November Community Engagement Christine Bass
November Community Engagement Dukes
November Student Experience Grant Dodge
November Community Engagement Jo Van Arkel
November Student Experience Megan Reidy
November Wellness Merry Yeager
November Student Experience Natasha Sandford
February Community Engagement Eleni Dellagrammaticas
February Wellness Dr. Janis Prewitt
February Student Experience Dr. James Simmerman
February Student Experience Ken Scislaw
February Community Engagement Scott Puryear
February Community Engagement Dr. Rick Maxson
February Community Engagement Claire Hubert
March Sustainability Zoe Mack