Dr. Jo Van Arkel
Chair of English Department
Professor of English
Director of the Writing Center
Office: (417) 873-7273

Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society. A member of the Association of College Honor Societies, it was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.

The Society strives to

  • Confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies;
  • Provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and promote interest in literature and the English language in surrounding communities;
  • Foster all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language, and writing;
  • Promote exemplary character and good fellowship among its members;
  • Exhibit high standards of academic excellence; and
  • Serve society by fostering literacy.

With more than 750 active chapters located in Europe, the Caribbean and the United States, there are more than 1,000 faculty sponsors, and approximately 8,500 members inducted annually.

Sigma Tau Delta's central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Sigma Tau Delta also recognizes the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.

To learn more, visit the Sigma Tau Delta National Honors Society website, or contact Katherine Gilbert at to get involved on campus.

Members include:
Dr. Peter Meidlinger
Dr. Randall Fuller
James Anderson
Hallee Sitler
Alex Miller
Lawren Askinosie
Rebecca Pfitzner
Millie Sharp
Jason Loeffler
Laura Davis
Clarissa Richee
Clairese Rykbos
Kellie Ahern
Jessica Kleekamp
Sarah King