About the Architecture Program

Established in 1984 at Drury University in Springfield, Missouri, the Hammons School of Architecture is an accredited five-year professional degree program which offers a Master of Architecture degree. The required architecture courses are integrated with the liberal arts curriculum of the university. The objective of this integrated curriculum approach is preparation for professional architectural practice within the broadest possible educational context.

Master of Architecture         B.S. in Architectural Studies         Architecture Minor

The First Two Years

  • Considered the pre-professional years
  • Enrollment in the first year is limited based upon high school GPA and SAT/ACT scores
  • Coursework includes a liberal arts body of knowledge in collaboration with drawing, design, history and theory, computer graphics and technology. Students who successfully complete these initial studies continue on to the professional program to continue advanced courses in architecture and the CORE: Engaging Our World curriculum for the concluding three years.

The Professional Program (Years 3-5)

  • Students must choose an area of concentration from three broad categories:
    • Design Theory and History
    • Technology and Sustainability
    • Urban and Regional Studies
    • Alternatively, students may propose an individually defined concentration focused on interests and career goals

Study Abroad

Included in the course of study is a foreign learning experience. The foreign study may be taken either as a semester abroad at the Drury Center in Greece, or through an alternate summer study abroad program.

View Current Study Abroad Opportunities

Internships & Engaged Learning

In addition to experience abroad, our program features a community design effort, summer coursework and a summer internship.  The community design project is taken through the Center for Community Studies (CCS). The internship is an opportunity for each student to work in the profession. Students can also explore other fields and complete, concurrently, majors and minors in the humanities, the sciences, business administration, and the visual and performing arts.

Co-Curricular Activities

Our Facilities

The Hammons School of Architecture facility, constructed in 1991, is an exceptional structure that provides the proper setting for this unique educational experience. The heart of the building consists of the welcoming studio environment supported by computers, classrooms and a well-equipped shop. The 250-seat auditorium is used for academic, professional and public functions that make the school an important cultural center in Southwest Missouri.

National Architectural Accrediting Board

The National Architectural Accrediting Board requests that each student be advised of the following:

In the United States, most state architecture registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.  The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.  A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Master’s degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education.  However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.