Drury University's Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of between 20 and 40 members, the number being determined from time to time by the Board. Trustees are elected by the existing Board. Each trustee serves for a term of four years and may be re-elected for subsequent terms.

In addition to the voting members of the Board, there are provisions for Emeritus Trustees and Life Trustees. Trustees who have served with distinction on the Board may, with the consent of the trustee, be approved by a majority vote of trustees as Emeritus Trustees. A former trustee may be designated a Life Trustee if he/she has demonstrated (1) proven devotion and dedication to higher education, especially to the University; (2) outstanding service and assistance to the president and his staff; and (3) unusual and outstanding stewardship of resources on behalf of the University. Emeritus Trustees and Life Trustees may attend and participate in meetings of the Board, but they have no vote.

The president of the university also serves on the Board as an ex-officio member, and the academic division chairs serve as non-voting faculty representatives to the Board.

Responsibilities & Authority

The Board of Trustees has ultimate institutional authority, having and exercising those powers and duties prescribed by law, by the Bylaws, and by the Articles of Association. These responsibilities include the authority to:

  • Appoint the president of the university.
  • Determine the course of study and instruction to be pursued in the university or any of its departments.
  • Ordain the necessary bylaws and regulations for the government and direction of all officers, instructors, students and servants of the university and for the general management of all its affairs.

Meetings & Operations

The trustees meet as a full Board two times each year, once in the fall and once in the spring. An executive committee, consisting of the officers of the Board, the chairs of all Board committees, and two at-large members, supervises the affairs of the university between meetings of the full Board. The Board also operates through a series of standing committees (besides the executive committee) including committees on finance, investments, academic affairs, student affairs, board organization, buildings and grounds, athletics, and CCPS.

Drury's Board of Trustees is comprised of dedicated professionals with demonstrated success in their chosen fields, a passion for Drury, and a commitment to Drury's ongoing success.

Drury's purpose, as stated in the articles of association:

"...is to afford to youth of both sexes ample facilities of instruction and discipline in those arts and sciences, a knowledge of which constitutes what is commonly known as a 'liberal education' by always maintaining in said college as comprehensive courses of study and as high standard of instruction and scholarship as prevail in other American colleges of the first rank and at the same time to train youth in the high morality and culture of the Christian religion."

2017-2018 Board of Trustees

Kris Anderson
Sarah LewisSarah M. Lewis
Rita Baron
Thomas LynchThomas Westbrook Lynch, M.D.
Jan Baumgartner 
Tom McAlearTom McAlear
1972, 1975 MBA
Jane BriteJane Brite
Ronald NevilleRonald A. Neville
Diana BuggDiana L. Bugg
Beth PileBeth Pile
Kenneth CarterKenneth L. Carter
Thomas PraterThomas G. Prater, M.D.
Phil CasterPhil Caster
Lyle ReedLyle D. Reed - Chairman
1970, 1972 MBA
Robert CoxRobert M. Cox, Jr.
Tim ReeseTim Reese
Jack DeloJack Delo
Terry Lynn ReynoldsTerry Lynn Reynolds
Rob Dickerson
John RickettsJohn W. Ricketts
1971 MBA
Curtis DinanCurtis Dinan
Suzanne ScottSuzanne (Suzie) Scott, Ph.D.
Steve EdwardsSteve Edwards
Terry Lynn ReynoldsSteve Seibert
Gail FredrickGail L. Fredrick
1969, 1972 (MBA)
Thomas StoutRon Staab
Lindsay French
2002, 2004 (MBA)
Thomas StoutThomas R. Stout
Walter N. George III
William VaughanWilliam D. Vaughan
Bill HartBill Hart
Tom WarrenMark Walker
Susie HenrySusie Henry
 Tom WarrenTom Warren
Tom KelloggTom N. Kellogg
Rosalie O'Reilly WootenRosalie O'Reilly Wooten
Danny LayDanny Lay


Life Trustees

Life Trustees are former Trustees who have demonstrated: (1) proven devotion and dedication to higher education, especially to the University; (2) outstanding service and assistance to the President and his staff; and (3) unusual and outstanding stewardship of resources on behalf of the University. Current Life Trustees are:

Emeritus Trustees

Emeritus Trustees are former Trustees who have served as Trustee with distinction and have been designated as Emeritus Trustees by the Board. Current Emeritus Trustees are: